Proper combination of God’s work and man’s work

I’ve been pondering this question for several years and still have not come up with a satisfying answer.  The question is “how much of life is dependence on God and allowing Him to work in my life AND how much is me doing all I can with what I have?”

As I study the Bible and listen to podcasts like ‘the white horse inn’ I am convinced of my inadequacy in accomplishing anything.  I am so inseparable from sin, and sin affects me so much that NOTHING I have or am is up to the standard set by God.

I, also am created in God’s image and likeness and so have some goodness in me.  It is not ‘godness’ or ‘a piece of God’ but it is something that makes me different from all other creatures in the universe.

I guess one major part of this is ‘what exactly is meant by ‘made in the image of God”?

Do I have enough ‘imago dei’ for me to push myself hard and accomplish great things?????

If I can do nothing (because of sin) why should I do anything??  If I am so inherently sinful can I do anything for God???  Aren’t all my good deeds like ‘filthy rags’ before God.

Still working on it.

Leave a Reply

