A different date was brought to my attention

     One of my previous posts talked about the changing of worldview in Western culture from Medieval, to Modern, to Post-modern.  As I discussed this paradigm shift I attached some general dates to signify this change.  Originally I said the Medieval worldview went from (roughly) AD 500 to AD 1500 (again this is Western culture, other cultures have their own times and shifts), Modernism from AD 1500 to AD 1972, and Post-modernism from 1972 to the present (although many people believe we are moving from Post-modernism to something else).

     Well, after getting some views as various people read that blog I received a comment that stated I should have chosen an earlier date for distinguishing the shift from Modernism to Post-modernism.  In history Post-modernism can be traced back to the early 1900’s.  It was seen throughout the 1900’s in such areas as:  art, music, architecture, literature, and philosophy.  It was stated by the reader of the blog  that 1972 was way too late of a date to be used in a time frame for the changing worldviews.

     So I did a little more research and thought through the suggestion, and decided that when I discuss this topic again I will use an approximate date of the 1950’s.  By this time much of the populace had been exposed to Post-modernism and some of the philosophers, artists, and architects had been making their own contributions to their specific discipline.

The date is very difficult to pin down

     It is difficult to pick a specific date, however, because this shift (as most if not all are) was gradual.  As I read the book A Primer on Post-modernism by Stanley Grenz, I recall that author choosing the date of the shift as 1972.  Wikipedia says this,

     “However, the transition from Modernism to Postmodernism is often said to have happened at 3:32pm on 15 July in 1972, when Pruitt Igoe; a housing development for low-income people in St. Louis designed by architect Minoru Yamasaki, which had been a prize-winning version of Le Corbusier‘s ‘machine for modern living’ was deemed uninhabitable and was torn down” (Wikipedia, Postmodernism).

I believe this is the event used as an illustration in Grenz’s book to signify the end of modernity.  This is seen as sort of the end of the beginning of Post-modernism.  I am not justifying my choice of 1972, simply giving my rationale for that date.

     As I said earlier, the date I think about when presenting a timeline of the shift will now be the 1950’s.  The blog reader was justified and very gracious in bringing up this variant in my presentation.  In sum, he/she was right and I was wrong.  So I have now changed my thinking and will change my Powerpoint slides to reflect this shift.

I appreciate the input

     I am so thankful for the correction by the reader and am wanting input from all the readers.  One of my goals is to make this blog informative and assist us all in our walk of faith in the Son of God, Jesus Christ.

soli deo gloria

Leave a Reply

